ENGLISH

DEPARTMENT HEAD: Mia Hadziahmetovic – mia.hadziahmetovic@tdsb.on.ca

Literacy is about more than reading or writing – it is about how we communicate in society. It is about social practices and relationships, about knowledge, language and culture. Those who use literacy take it for granted – but those who cannot use it are excluded from much communication in today’s world. Indeed, it is the excluded who can best appreciate the notion of “literacy as freedom”. 

UNESCO, Statement for the United Nations Literacy Decade, 2003–2012

Language development is central to students’ intellectual, social, cultural, and emotional growth and must be seen as a key component of the curriculum. When students learn to use language, they do more than master the basic skills. They learn to value the power of language and to use it responsibly. They learn to express feelings and opinions and to support their opinions with sound arguments and evidence from research. They become aware of the many purposes for which language is used and the diverse forms it can take to serve particular purposes and audiences. They learn to use the formal language appropriate for debates and essays, the narrative language of stories and novels, the figurative language of poetry, the technical language of instructions and manuals. They develop an awareness of how language is used in different formal and informal situations. Students learn that language can be not only used as a tool but also appreciated and enjoyed. Language is the basis for thinking, communicating, learning, and viewing the world. Students need language skills in order to comprehend ideas and information, to interact socially, to inquire into areas of interest and study, and to express themselves clearly and demonstrate their learning. Learning to communicate with clarity and precision will help students to thrive in the world beyond school. Language is a fundamental element of identity and culture. As students read and reflect on a rich variety of literary, informational, and media texts, they develop a deeper understanding of themselves and others and of the world around them. If they see themselves and others in the texts they study, they will be more engaged in learning and they will also come to appreciate the nature and value of a diverse, multicultural society. They will develop the ability to understand and critically interpret a range of texts and to recognize that a text conveys one particular perspective among many. 

Department Teachers

Haroula Belfiore
haroula.belfiore@tdsb.on.ca
ENG4C1-01; ENG2D1-07; ENG2D1-05

Michael Crossland
michael.crossland@tdsb.on.ca
ENG3C1-01; ENG3C1-02; ENG4C1-02

Eryn Decoste
eryn.decoste@tdsb.on.ca
ENG3U1-04; ENG3U1-05; ENG1D1-13

Elisa DiPonio
elisa.diponio@tdsb.on.ca
ENG1D1-07; ENG1D1-03

Karim Ennadouri
karim.ennadouri@tdsb.on.ca
ENG1D1-06

Jagruti Gandhi
jagruti.gandhi@tdsb.on.ca
ENG4U1-04; ENG4U1-05

Sofia Noori
sofia.noori@tdsb.on.ca
ENG2D1-02; ENG2D1-01

Chloe Rocha
chloe.rocha@tdsb.on.ca
ENG4U1-07

Brian Warford
brian.warford@tdsb.on.ca
ENG1D1-08

School Wide Literacy Implementation 

Stevie Sampson – stevie.sampson@tdsb.on.ca

 Return to Departments