MATHEMATICS

Department Head: Adrian Kokthi – adrian.kokthi@tdsb.on.ca 

“Without mathematics, there’s nothing you can do. Everything around you is mathematics. Everything around you is numbers.” ~Shakuntala Devi

It is exactly right! What can we do without math? The Math Department team at NACI is consistently adapting processes that best enable students to understand mathematical concepts that relate to today’s real-world contexts and learn related skills to further enhance their preparation for all post-secondary programs.

We are offering a variety of math courses starting from essential math skills, in support of everyday life living up to the highest academic math level in support of different post-secondary pathways. Our department is actively involved in different mathematical competitions organized by the University of Waterloo.

In today’s digital world, our department is providing the best teaching practices in mastering the necessary educational technology tools and online learning platforms to better accommodate our students’ needs towards successful learning experiences.

*********************************

Announcements:

  • Math Club

The Math Department is inviting everyone to join the Hybrid Math Club. It is a great way to boost your math skills and let your confidence shine, no matter if you are currently taking a math course or not.
The Math Club will take place in classroom and online via ZOOM every Tuesday during lunchtime. 
Click here or use the QR code below to enroll. 
 

 

  • Problem of the Week

Week 6 (Deadline Oct. 27)

Grade 9-10 students, click here to open the question,

Grade 11-12 students, click here to open the question.

Upload solution (PDF or JPEG format) here

*********************************

Semester 1 Math Department Teachers

Joy Carter 
joy.carter@tdsb.on.ca
MBF3C1-03; MAP4C1-02; MBF3C1-01 
https://classroom.google.com

Cindy Huang 
cindy.huang@tdsb.on.ca
MAP4C1-01; MCV4U1-01; MCF3M1-01
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Neshat Hyka 
neshat.hyka@tdsb.on.ca
MTH1W1-16; MTH1W1-17; MTH1W1-13
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Adrian Kokthi
adrian.kokthi@tdsb.on.ca
MPM2D1-04; MPM2D1-04; SSTCHP2
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Valbona Kokthi
valbona.kokthi@tdsb.on.ca
MHF4U1-05; MPM2D1-06; MHF4U1-04
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Nahid Modam 
nahid.modam@tdsb.on.ca
MTH1W1-08
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Maggie Licata
maggie.licata@tdsb.on.ca
MDM4U1-01; MDM4U1-02; MPM2D1-08
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Manjit Sahota 
manjit.sahota@tdsb.on.ca
MFM2P1-01; MHF4U1-02; MCR3U1-04
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Christopher Scriven
christopher.scriven@tdsb.on.ca
MTH1W1-17
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

Brian Warford
brian.warford@tdsb.on.ca
MTH1W1-03; MTH1W1-06
https://tdsb.elearningontario.ca

 

 EQAO – Grade 9 Math 

Click here for the latest news about EQAO. 

  • If you are a grade 9 student and want to see some examples of the test or want more details for writing EQAO, you might use the EQAO Students page.
  • Parents can use the EQAO Parents page to learn more about this test. The information is offered in multiple languages.
  • For NACI’s last EQAO results please use this link

Math Curriculum

Here is the link to the Ministry of Education Mathematics curriculum documents to find out more about our Math courses.

Math Online Help

Here are some helpful online math learning and practicing websites that students can use to improve their math skills.

https://www.tvomathify.com/students (Homework Help)

https://ca.ixl.com/

https://www.prepanywhere.com/

https://app.knowledgehook.com/

https://www.khanacademy.org/

https://cemc.uwaterloo.ca/resources/courseware/courseware.html

https://edwin.app/full-access

https://mathies.ca/#gsc.tab=0

 

 Return to Departments